top of page

Hello Autumn


𝘔𝘦𝘦𝘵 𝘮𝘦 𝘸𝘩𝘦𝘳𝘦 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘦𝘴 𝘧𝘢𝘭𝘭 𝘧𝘳𝘰𝘮 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘵𝘳𝘦𝘦𝘴. ⁣

🌳🍁⁣

The last dying days of summer have fled, and Autumn rushes in the season for untamed and wild things. A riot to the senses with colourful days and cooler nights; as Summer’s fires fade into amber-hued pageantry and melancholy mood. The air crisp with the tang of late blooms and seasonal fruit, woodsmoke, and earth. ⁣

I think the world walks in sadness for its’ lost touch with elemental things. ⁣

🔥 💨 🌎 💧 ⁣


I have always said I am a Forever Su mmer kinda girl, and it's still mostly true. I love the woods, the water, the longer days; and since a good six months of our year is cold, the summer gives so many great outdoor opportunities. Lately, with summers getting stupid, ridiculous hot, I find that mid August to October is my favourite time of year. The temperature is still warm enough during daytime you can wear light clothing, and the nights have begun to be cooler. Less bugs too!


Is there a name for this time of year? I feel it's a Season within Two Seasons. (There is of course a well known term for a period of warmer weather occuring in late Autumn, but I won't be using that out-dated term on this blog.) Second Summer perhaps?


Based on this photo I took in the woods just beyond my home, Golden Days seems an appropriate term for this beautiful time of year. A second chance to run wild and free before the bitter cold and blanket of white covers the world.

Golden hour sets in the woods in my hometown.

13 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Join our mailing list

  • Pexels
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
© InkInterrupted

© 2023 by The Mountain Man. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page