top of page

This Hugger Stops for Trees

Updated: Jun 4, 2023


I love trees.


Our local conservation area boasts the following: The tallest tree in Ontario is currently a white pine in Arnprior that is 47 meters (154 feet) tall. I don’t post pictures of it because some people are awful and then we can’t have nice things.


The loggers who built my town also built their home from these woods, but they preserved the woods themselves for the village people to enjoy. Together the woods and home are designated as a National Historic Site. Now it will be permanently protected as old growth forests; even if it’s current fame should be short lived.

This is one of my favourite walking places and it’s especially sweet since my mother often joins me. After years of walkers, the birds, chipmunks, and squirrels are tame enough to hand feed. I keep a bag of birdseed in my car at all times. The old maple and birch trees are homes to hawks, and the hemlocks to owls. Though I’ve only seen one in all my adventures. Others have been so incredibly lucky to capture the snowy owls that return each year.




It’s true the towering pines are the showstoppers that often draw visitors from across the province, but my favourite are the beautiful white birch trees that stand out like glowing ghosts amongst all the greenery. The papery bark used to be used in canoes and is a great fire starter in an emergency. Please don’t pull off too much or it can kill the tree.



I love living so close to woods. Aside from the many, many benefits to our world and our selves - trees just make me happy.



“Trees are sanctuaries. Whoever knows how to speak to them, whoever knows how to listen to them, can learn the truth.”

― Herman Hesse




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page