top of page

Poetic Interlude - Raindrops

It's been awhile.... again.

Just when I think this writing/posting will become a regular thing.... LIFE!


The flow of life has been hard these past few years, and it serves as a great reminder of why the name of this blog includes the word "interrupted." So. Many. Daily.

Also, the world has just rather sucked, hasn't it? And I have always promised myself to be the Light & Love in the midst of any darkness; even though I rather understand the darkness best. After all these years online, I often still find myself asking why does it matter if I my writing is online, if it already exists in journals? Connection? I love that... but again, Time. Who has it?


The thing is, I do always Write. I just don't always Post. Perhaps due to the fact that much of what I write comes from a place of trauma. I am a Survivor who doesn't speak much to that past - and you might be surprised when most of my photos are of my frolics into Nature. Kayaking into golden pink sunsets. My poppies bursting in my garden. All that doesn't mean the darkness of the past is gone... it just means: I Don't Live There Anymore.


But you can find it the words I pull up from the deep.

It may seem that I am not ok.... and that would be, OK.

Sometimes I just need to go quiet and sit with it all. It's just an interruption; not a full stop. It is necessary to pause every now and then.

The pull to share, connect, and find my place among the many who reach out through the keyboard is always going to be present and strong. So is the reminder that all things will come forth in their own time.


And today, I just happen to have both will and time. A writing miracle!

 

All this rain

and sadness

that never seems to dry

grief bound under grief

dried scarlet and rust

trodden beneath these boots

a bright crimson slash

against the browning decay

purchased because the looked

so daring among the basic black

of Walmart's daily special

they pinched my big toe

but made me wince smile

and now I walk with halting steps

just to clear my head

in this crisp Autumn air

with an ache in my heart,

a limping gait

and listening to the trees

telling stories of letting go

and living tall and still

beneath these solemn

fragments of rain

that remind me how to feel




I've also recently joined Substack, so this blog may host more creative writing and poetry, you can find other life updates and notes there.


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page