top of page

Prompt: Curse or Charm?

I absolutely loved doing this writing prompt!


Use four lines to write a fictional curse or spell that would fit in a fantasy book.


Unfortunately double double toil and trouble is already taken, because that is fabulous.


This prompt gave me an appreciation for writers such as Rowling or Alice Hoffman (Practical Magic) who create such amazing, epic new worlds, but also often languages.


I've been thinking lately of a tattoo that has salt, flowers and a heart based on the following quote from Hoffman's book and the movie.



“There are some things I know for certain: always throw spilt salt over your left shoulder, keep rosemary by your garden gate, plant lavender for luck, and fall in love whenever you can.”


But for now... my own bit of magic. Or mischief and mayhem perchance?

I think I would rather stop evil in its tracks than raise it from some dark and scary abyss. One of the scariest creatures I remember from bonfire stories is the Wendigo. The land I live on is originally that of the Algonquin First Nations and I grew up hearing traditional stories. Wendigo is a mythological creature or evil spirit which originates from the folklore of First Nations based in and around the East Coast forests of Canada; part of the traditional belief system of a number of Algonquin-​speaking peoples, including the Ojibwe, the Saulteaux, and the Cree. Wendigos are described as powerful monsters that have a desire to kill and eat their victims. In most legends, humans transform into Wndigos because of their greed or weakness, but many myths also include the transformation is due to cannibalism.


Definitely something I neither want to encounter, or become. So a protection spell seems about right.


VANQUISHING THE WENDIGO


Items needed: chalk, black candle, salt

Draw a circle with the chalk and stand inside. Pour wax from the candle over the chalk outline, and then sprinkle salt over both. Chant the following in each direction.


Mighty circle, in the darkest hour

I call upon the ancient power

by soil, wind, sea and flame

Send this beast back to whence it came!


There are many myths and legends regarding Wendigo psychosis, which is considered by some psychiatrists to be a syndrome that creates an intense craving for human flesh and a fear of becoming a cannibal. Ironically, this psychosis is said to occur within people living around the Great Lakes of Canada and the United States. Wendigo psychosis usually develops in the winter in individuals who are isolated by heavy snow for long periods.


Ummm.... did I mention I am from the Great Lake region of Lake Ontario?











10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page