top of page

Simply Stopping


Do you find you don't have time to do all the things you truly want to do?


And I don't mean finally folding that basket of laundry. Which yes, it is important to be organized and have clean underwear... but I promise nothing truly bad will happen if someone has to pull them out of the basket instead of a drawer for a day or two.


There is more to you than just what you do.

Or rather, the things you choose to do over the things you really want to do. You know, Adulting.

Yeah, stop that.

For just a few minutes, and do something that is entirely You.


How do I do it?

I simply stopped. Well, aside from trips to the coffee maker, but mostly:  Still.

I have reached the point of this Be Present journey now, that if I don't feel inspired to take a picture, or edit a photo, or write a poem; I don't put unrealistic pressure on myself to do so.  I do believe a writer should write every day, even a little.  But that doesn't mean you will see it.  Sometimes, it's just for me.

I no longer feel the crushing need to post to Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, nor will I here on a constant basis.   And I gotta say; it's terribly freeing. Like the good creative outlets they are supposed to be - instead of mere distractions - they are here when I need them.   I kinda like not needing them. 

But still, I must Art, so I am ever ready to answer the summons.

Sometimes inspiration finds you.   You must surrender. Other times you have to go find it in the dark and drag it out of it's hiding place, then bend it to your will. Either way; it has to find you working.


14 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page